Peabody OUI Lawyer
What do you need to know if you are arrested for OUI in Peabody, Massachusetts? Attorney DelSignore offers the following tips and advice.
Tip 1: Do Not assume your case can be won after you read the police report; everyone who is charged things there police report is terrible. In many cases I will tell you that the report is favorable based on my experience in knowing how officers will testify in court.
Police reports do not contain all the information about your case. In fact, they only contain the negative observations the officer made. Do not assume the case cannot be won by reading your police report. As a Peabody OUI Lawyer, I can help you understand how the case will be presented in court and what evidence a judge or jury will hear when the case goes to trial.
Tip 2: Understand what’s going to happen to your license.
If you refused a breath test, you’ll lose you license for 6 months. If you failed the breath test, you’ll lose your license for 30 days. The job of your lawyer is to explain what will happen at the RMV; if you have a lawyer that says they do not know or the RMV will do whatever they want, then you do not have a lawyer experienced handling OUI cases.
Tip 3: Hire a lawyer immediately to preserve important evidence in your case.
It’s important to hire a lawyer who can properly bring to light the positive facts about you, and your case. Defense attorneys know how to argue against police testimonies and reports, which is crucial to winning your case. Lawyers are able to bring to light the holes in police reports and defend you as the good person you are. Your life should not be on hold because of a charge against you.
Most people are very nervous after an OUI charge. It is important to learn the process so that you do not have needless anxiety during the case. One of the common misconceptions people have is about what happens at the court dates: the first court date is the arraignment, where you are formally advised of the charges. You will not have to say anything at the arraignment, the officer will not be there, but you will be in front of the judge for about 30 seconds while the charges are read in court (if you have a lawyer you can waive the reading of the charges). If it’s your first OUI offense, then you are given another court date, called the pre-trial. At that hearing you will be given an opportunity to gather additional evidence in the case and be allowed to set the case down for a motion or trial. If you want to resolve the case, you can also do so at any point during the process.
In Massachusetts, an OUI is defined as: the operation of a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of.08% or greater or while under the influence of marijuana, narcotic drugs, depressants, stimulants, or vapors of glue. Knowing this, should you fight your case? There are many factors that come into play when you’re deciding if you should: the strength of the facts against you and the potential penalties and/or benefits of accepting a plea. In addition, what’s most important to you? Avoiding conviction or ending the case and getting back on the road? At DelSignore Law it’s important to us that your concerns are understood and that you receive the kind of representation you want and need.Where is Peabody District Court?
Peabody District Court is located at 1 Lowell Street, Peabody, MA 01960.
If you arrested for OUI call Attorney DelSignore on his cell phone at 781-686-5924. He has helped people all over Massachusetts avoid an OUI conviction and is here to help you.