Milford, Massachusetts Car Accident Lawyer
At DelSignore Law we help people get back on their feet and recover money when they are involved in a car accident.
Car accidents can be scary, but if you are informed on the steps to take after the accident, it can make the aftermath less daunting.
If you find yourself in a situation where you are in an accident, the first thing to do is to try and remain calm and check for any injuries. If you or your passenger have injuries dial 911 right away. Describe the location, the scene, and let the dispatcher know who is injured. If able, take pictures of your car and the other car(s), marks, and debris to have evidence of the damage. Having pictures on hand will be beneficial later on. Check to see if the other party is okay but do not show any anger or be overly friendly with the other driver.
Once officers arrive, you will be required to give your license and registration to the officer. If you are injured or suspect you may be injured, it is important to seek medical attention right away. Car accidents can cause serious damage for back and neck injuries that sometimes do not present pain until later on. Waiting to seek treatment can cause more problems in the long run. It is also important to remember that increased adrenaline can mask symptoms of injury. It is important to try to independently obtain the other drivers information, like license plate number or any other information so you do not have to wait for the police report or rely on the officer to accurately keep it. You can ask the officer if you can take a copy of the information with your phone. At minimum, be sure to get a copy of the license plate of the other driver.
Next, if the accident resulted in over $1,000 of damage, you will need to file an accident report. You can download the form from the Massachusetts DOT website. This report should be mailed to the local police department, your insurance company, and the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles.
After this, it is wise to start gathering evidence to support your demand for compensation form the other driver’s insurance company. If you are injured Massachusetts is a “No Fault” state. This means your medical bills are paid by your own insurance company if you were operating your own car, regardless of who was at fault in the accident. This is called “Personal Injury Protection” or PIP. The form must be filed promptly after an accident.
You are probably required by your insurance company to immediately notify them of the accident. Failure to notify your insurance company can result in a denial of your claim. While you are required to do so, you are not required to give long statements or admit fault in any circumstance.
Finally, if you are seriously injured, you will need an experienced attorney on your side, contact DelSignore Law for more information. You can call or test us 7 days a week, anytime at 781-686-5924.