Hall of Fame catcher Carlton Fisk was arrested and charged with DUI in Illinois this week.
ESPN Chicago reported police found Fisk passed out behind the wheel of his vehicle in the middle of a cornfield. New Lenox Deputy Chief Bob Pawlisk said Fisk was charged with a lane violation, driving under the influence and illegal transportation of alcohol.
Police say an open vodka bottle was found in his vehicle. As a Massachusetts DUI defense lawyer more information is needed to determine the best course of action. Did Fisk submit to a breathalyzer or was he given a blood test? Did he perform field sobriety tests? Is there a medical condition involved that could help explain how he ended up in the middle of the field? The fact that he was found on private property could also complicate things for prosecutors.
“They contacted local paramedics in New Lenox, had him examined, and the officers had reason to believe he was under the influence,” Pawlisk said. Fisk was transported to the local hospital.
The 64-year-old Fisk posted bond and was released. He is due back in court on Nov. 29.
Fisk played for the Red Sox upon entering the major league in 1969 and was a member of the 1975 World Series team. His last game was in 1980. Ironically, his arrest came just one day after the 37th anniversary of his game-clinching home run in Game 6 against the Cincinnati Reds. The Reds went on to win Game 7. Fisk signed with the Chicago White Sox in 1981 and retired from baseball in 1993.
Thus, Pudge was a Sox of one sort or another for his entire career. He was the first player to be unanimously voted American League Rookie of the Year when he took the award in 1972. At the time of his retirement, he held the record for most home runs all-time by a catcher (351). Until July 2009, he held the record for most consecutive games as a catcher (2,226).
He is still the American League record holder for most years behind the plate (24). Also known as a fierce competitor and a superb handler of pitchers, Fisk was an 11 time All-Star.
He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2000.
In Illinois, a first-offense DUI is punishable by a one-year suspension of your driver’s license. Massachusetts DUI Law (MGL c.90, s.24) also outlines possible penalties that include license suspension, as well as fines and jail time. A typical disposition for a first-time offender is a 45-day license suspension, completion of an alcohol-education class, fines and court costs.
Fisk now lives in New Lenox, Illinois. However, many times an out-of-state charge can pose additional hassle for the defendant. And Boston is a frequent tourist destination. Fighting an out-of-state DUI charge is just as important. With increasing frequency, such cases are being used to enhance future charges in a driver’s home state should a subsequent arrest occur. An experienced defense attorney can work to reach a favorable resolution in your case without you ever returning to appear in court. Even in the worst case scenario, these cases can be properly defended with a single court appearance arranged to meet a defendant’s schedule.
Continue Reading ›